I USED TO HAVE A BEST FRIEND…

(“I used to have a best friend” shares its similarities with the previous poem “We’ve drifted apart”. However, this one looks from the angle of a friend; friendships are so important in life. We can survive with the loss of a lover but losing a friend is like losing your identity; losing the very meaning of life!

The end of this poem might seem abrupt. But I have deliberately left it so. Because life loses its completeness with the loss of a best friend and this poem best remains incomplete…. )

I used to have a best friend

and he made my life whole

A friend, philosopher, guide

He played my life’s every role


I used to have a best friend

He used to live in my smile

Fill my surroundings with laughter

And make my time worthwhile


I used to have a best friend

He used to make me dance

And make my heart break into a song

With a single loving glance


I used to have a best friend

Who used to stand by me in thick & thin

Never did he let my days

Sink into chaos and din


I used to have a best friend

who also made me cry

But when I fell down & could not get up

He taught me how to fly


I used to have a best friend

Who sometimes got angry with me

Yet when we didnt talk for even a minute

He would beg and come to plea


I used to have a best friend

And though we had many a fight

In the end he just hugged me

And everything seemed so right


I used to have a best friend

And we used to talk every day

We might be anywhere in the world

But by thought, were never away


His calls fueled my happiness

His voice got me through the day

And when I was overwhelmed with work

He made everything okay


And then all changed……….


The calls dwindled & came to a stop

The mornings turned very bleak

The very reason that brightened my day

Went from strong to being weak


Sometimes I would remember some joke

Some funny moment we shared

And memories would come rushing back

As if he still cared


I didn’t know, whom to tease to

Or with whom to share my woes

I guess when best friends break up

They end up worse than foes


Death is not the only thing that separates people

Believe me, its true

What separates people is ignorance

Of a relationship they once knew


When the person who loved you once

Now behaves as if you don’t exist

And when you try to go away

He doesn’t even try to resist


I can cope with the loss of a mentor

I can cope with the loss of  a lover

But losing a best friend is traumatic

No identity left to discover


No other friend can make up

For the void that the best one has left

Even when you surround yourself with people

Forever  does life harbors; a deep-rooted painful cleft


If you have lost a best friend

You may know how it might feel

There’s no meaning to your life

How much ever you try to conceal


I used to have a best friend

I used to have a life

I used to have a best friend

I used to have a life








7 thoughts on “I USED TO HAVE A BEST FRIEND…

  1. Sonali…girl its amazing it is so well written..as i was reading i could relate so much to it…i went back to those college days when friends were everything and today everyone is so busy in their life that those once best friends also hardly talk ….good one…keep writing

  2. u made me rewind on al the friends whom i have lost due to ignorance or situations. thank you for reviving the pain so beautifully so that i dont make the same mistake again

Leave a Reply

